Let’s talk about smells?

 

Hi, guys! How are you? Hope everything is great wherever you are.

(I’m not going to sing smelly cat, the awesome music by Phoebe Buffay, I’m sorry if I disappointed you, but) today I wanna talk about how smells are important in our life.

Well, for those who know me, you already know I have some kind of deficiency on capturing smells. I don’t know why, I don’t know when it happened, but at some point in my life I just realized I couldn’t feel the smell of things properly anymore. Yeah, it kinda sucks.

Nathan Phillips Square – Toronto, Canada.

Buuuut, when I first arrived at the Toronto Person International Airport I realized it. A sweet smell, something in the air, some kind of different thing that I could notice. But I kept it with me, I could be something wrong with me, that’s always a possibility, huh?

But the transfer drove all the way to my new house (I remember how excited I was that day), I arrived there, did all the process of unpacking some of my things and call my friend (the one who was also approved on the program) to go for a ride. And so we went.

We walked all the Danforth Avenue, from Donlands Station to (a very long away) after Pape Station, and the smell was there. At this time I couldn’t keep this anymore, I had to ask. I asked to her if she was feeling it and she said yes, since she arrived there, she was feeling a different smell of what we were used to. So, nothing wrong with me then. Cheers.

What I’m trying to say here is that some day I just didn’t realize that smell anymore, it wasn’t there. And not because of my lack of abilities but because I got used to it just the way I got used to the smell of where I came from. I was a bit sad about it but that was one of the moments that made me realize I can fit anywhere and get used to practically everything. The moment when it wasn’t different to me anymore, it was just the city’s smell. It was, also, one of the moments that made me feel I wasn’t just on an exchange program. I was feeling it. And more than that, I was living it. I was living Toronto and living my dream.
And today (30/01) this fragrance occurred to me again. But here, in Brazil…

How come? I honestly don’t know, but I loved. And I hope to get this whenever the heaven decides that I need to be reminded of it.
So, that’s all for now. Hope to see you soon!!

Leave a Reply

