Canada vs Brazil: round one.

Hi, guys! How are you? Hope everything is doing great wherever you are.

So, today I decided to write about one huge cultural shock I lived: drinking age and the way alcoholic beverages are sold. Here in Brazil alcoholic beverages can be bought wherever you want: supermarkets, convenience stores, small stores inside your own neighborhood, for instance. And according to the law, you can buy it only if you’re 18+, but people are not so strict with it. I mean, I’m not encouraging you, dear under 18, to try to buy an alcoholic beverage or try go enter some party that is forbidden for people who are 18 or less.

But when it comes to Ontario, well… It works in a real different way: alcoholic beverages are sold only in two companies: LCBO and The BeerStore. Those are the only companies allowed by law to sell alcoholic beverages, so you will find this type of drink in one of its stores, which are spread out across all the province. Another huge difference I could notice is that you can’t walk around showing up your drinks and you can’t drink on the streets, totally the opposite of Brazil, where is normal, in fact, to see people with their bottles around.

Another point really interesting that I could see is that all parties have to end at 2 a.m. I don’t know why, but that’s the way it works. I felt really weird when I had to go back to my house so early while here in Brazil I’m used to go back around 5 a.m., for example.

In fact, because of this, I had to wait a whole month until I could get in to parties and drinks because when I got there I was 18, which means under age in Canada, so no drinks and no parties until I got 19.

So, yeah, that’s all for now. Hope to see you soon.

img_20161018_175905425_hdr
Some random street near to the harbourfront – Toronto, Canada.
2 thoughts on “Canada vs Brazil: round one.”

  1. […] there I was a minor, which means that I couldn’t drink or get in to parties (I talk about this here, where I spot the difference between Canada and Brazil in this aspect). So I spent almost a month […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

